Skip to content

A Not So Difficult Choice

September 29, 2011

No single person, idea, innovation or change in anything is to ‘blame’ for the downfall of the CD industry. A wide variety of changes and lack there of resulted in this industry losing its strangle hold over music and those that create or consume it. For this article I plan to speak on that which directly affected my recent choice to abandon every CD I have. This included unreleased music, special imports from overseas(one that was ordered from a website not written in english and that I had to use an online translator to purchase), ultra limited collectors albums, even albums that personally thank me.

Two factors led to me abandoning my CD collection, the first being my complete disuse of them and relegation to a corner of the room to collect dust. For almost two years now I have not picked up an album and looked at it or played it on my computer, the reason being I did not need to. My music is on my computer, my iPod even video game consoles can store music digitally and transferred there from a computer. My music is backed up on an external hard drive so if anything happens I can just re upload to any of my electronics. I also have backups at my parents house with all my music and personal/business files in case a fire or other natural disaster destroys my things. Yet all these things combined in mass are smaller than the box CDs currently sit in and can all be accessed far quicker than a CD can.

Secondly I live a five minutes from at least a dozen stores that sell music, round trip to buy an album would likely take 15-20 minutes. Even with a poor internet connection I can digitally purchase an album and have it playing in 10 minutes. I can read a review of an album then hear a sample of it from the artists website and then continue to buy it all from the seat at my computer. Admittedly I could order the physical album online just as easily but then I would have to wait at least a week for it to be delivered. This is only in comparison to where I live today, in my teen years when still living with my parents I had to drive an hour to reach the closest CD store.

Now with things like Soundcloud, Amazon and iTunes all having streaming services of music available I could access almost any song anywhere(though I still prefer to download and own a song Vs streaming it but thats another article for another day). The CD is not dead yet as there are still those who prefer physical and enjoy collecting music in this form. Soon enough they will stop making cars with CD players and already computers and other electronic devices are turning away from this format such as netbooks, tablets, the MacBook Air and various gaming devices are turning towards digital transference of information.

I do admit to feeling an odd sense of sorrow over departing with my albums but I still own them just not in form I originally bought them. The CD is dying for vast and various reasons but for me I have accepted this and moved on, no one laments that we no longer carve our information into rock stones or floppy disks, and someday in the distant future neither will anyone care that the CD is no longer used. Technology and humanity advance and continue to move, this is a fact and it is the natural evolution of things. There are those who will argue that the CD will always be around but nothing lasts forever, just look at the Dinosaurs.

-Hassan

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

